German Christmas Cookies in Ohio!

12 Dec

Have I mentioned that I have an extreme weakness for seasonal food stuffs? I have? Let me show you why!

Bierberg Bakery is a gem of a business located in German Village.  Having missed them last year, I had to get reacquainted this season. Little did I know, they are open from mid-October (!!) to December 30th every year. Edible Columbus and Columbus Underground have covered them recently and you can read about it here and here.

The above is a selection of Christmas cookies from Bierberg Bakery’s repertoire. From top, clockwise: vanilla stick, almond crescent, hazelnut drop, walnut drop, almond macaroon, and wilhemson. From previous seasons, the almond macaroon and the vanilla stick have been my die-hard favorites. If you eat the last one, I will get my revenge. Both have an addictive chew that is the delicate line between candy and cookie. But this year, Jenny stuck a couple new ones in my one pound selection ($16). Jenny’s favorite, the almond crescent is at once buttery and light, almost like an almond shortbread. And since I love the almond macaroons, it’s a no brainer that I love the walnut drops. It’s a little more dense with ground walnuts but the egg white and sugar treatment gives it the chew of a great macaroon.

I see at least another trip to Bierberg before this holiday season is over!

One Response to “German Christmas Cookies in Ohio!”

  1. Jane Bruce December 8, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    Hi there,
    We’re doing a piece here at The Daily Meal about America’s best cookies. Bierberg Bakery is being featured in the story! I was hoping I could use your photo for the story. We’re happy to give full credit. Please let me know as soon as possible. You can email me at jbruce@thedailymeal.com. Thanks so much!

    Best,
    Jane Bruce
    Photo Editor
    The Daily Meal

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

