House Salad

29 Jul

I’ve long felt that the more ingredients in salads, the more exciting they are to eat. I’m talking grilled zucchini, julienne red bell pepper, peas, tuna, chipped extra sharp white cheddar, halved seedless grapes, basically, anything to up the nutritional value of salad greens. In my attempt to control my caloric intake, I’m letting all that go. Not only is cheese in salad a bad idea, but I was really losing out on the low-cal aspect of the salad when I started loading it up with a bajallion toppings.

So I’ve settled on this mix of four veggies: matchstick carrots, radishes, cucumbers, and spring baby mix. Tossed with a light homemade vinaigrette. If I can sub out one meal a day with this salad, maybe I’ll lose five pounds before heading back to Shanghai… Before I get the third degree from my mother about my eating habits.

House Dressing

1 clove garlic
1/4 small red onion
1 teaspoon garlic powder
2 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
2 tablespoon white vinegar
2 tablespoon soy sauce
1 table spoon sugar
4 tablespoon olive oil.

Press the garlic and red onion through a garlic press. Insert into a bottle with the remainder of the ingredients. Shake well. Allow to sit in fridge overnight for the flavors to develop. Use as necessary! I probably use about 2 tablespoons of the dressing for a large salad. Yummers!

Leave a Reply

