Maque Choux

13 Aug

A couple years ago, my friend over at Words and Nosh had a beautiful wedding in New Orleans. It was my first time having real Cajun/Creole food and I loved it! More recently, she posted a pic on her food blog of her maque choux and I was just drooling over it. As it happens, it’s sweet corn season here in Ohio and I had everything I needed either in my fridge or on the fire escape (have you seen my urban garden?). I trimmed down a couple different recipes I found online, omitted the cream and most of the butter, and used a lot of herbs.  Click through for the recipe and more pics, including one of the finished product!

What I used:
2 tablespoons butter
1 medium onion, diced
1/4 red bell pepper, diced
1/4 green bell pepper, diced
1 jalapeno, keep the seeds and diced
4 ribs celery, diced
5 green onions, chopped, whites and greens separated
6 ears of Ohio sweet corn, cut from cob
2 handfuls of cherry tomatoes, halved
1 tablespoon fresh thyme, chopped
1 1/2 cups fat free Snowville milk
2 tablespoons hot sauce, Sriracha
2 tablespoons cornstarch, mixed with 1/4 cup water
2 tablespoon fresh basil, chopped

Good grief! That’s a lot of ingredients! Over medium high heat, melt the butter in a large skillet. Add the next 5 ingredients and the green onion whites. Season with salt and pepper, then stir and saute until soft. Add corn and cherry tomatoes. Stir to combine and saute until corn is translucent, about five minutes. Add milk, thyme, and hot sauce, stir until combined. Add cornstarch solution to skillet and mix well. Continue to cook over medium high heat until the sauce thickens and coats the corn kernels with a nice sheen. Stir in reserved green onion greens and basil. Transfer to serving dish. And dig in!

3 Responses to “Maque Choux”

  1. amy August 16, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

    this looks ridiculously good. i’m so going to make this!

    • vivshmack August 17, 2010 at 7:27 am #

      Thanks Amy! It IS ridiculously good! Very sweet!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sweet and Savoury « lip shmacking around - August 18, 2010

    […] drizzle of honey, and a sprinkling of cinnamon. For myself, I topped my berries with some leftover Maque Choux and since the heat from the Sriracha and fresh chili pepper crept up, a dollop of Fage Total 0% to […]

Leave a Reply

