Sweet and Savoury

18 Aug

B and I have been trying (with mixed results) to eat better. I’m trying to eat less refined carbs (ohhhh, baked goods, cheesy pasta, how I love thee!) and he’s trying to drink less. A couple months ago, we bought some spelt berries at The Greener Grocer with the intention of replacing my pasta hankering. I never made the dish, but I’ve had great successes using it as a side grain for a veggie based meal and as an ingredient in a Mediterranean inspired salad (with cucumbers, tomatoes, and feta). I’ve also been experimenting with wheat and spelt berries as a morning grain. Bob prefers sweet morning grains, and I prefer savoury; hence, the dual breakfast.

I cooked the spelt berries as normal, in water, without salt, so both of us could use it. For B, I added a dollop of Fage Total 0%, a drizzle of honey, and a sprinkling of cinnamon. For myself, I topped my berries with some leftover Maque Choux and since the heat from the Sriracha and fresh chili pepper crept up, a dollop of Fage Total 0% to cool it down. B ended up preferring my savoury version more than his sweet version. Since we got a big bag of wheat berries at Jungle Jim’s on our Cincinnati trip, I think I’m going to cook up a big batch and keep it in the fridge for quick breakfasts and snacking.

Leave a Reply

