Shanghai 2010: New Obsession, Crispy Pan Fried Buns (生煎饱)

14 Oct

 

Ceramic Wall Decoration in the Forbidden City

 

A couple days ago, while strolling through Hocking Hills, Kyle asked me what my favorite meal was in China. It’s hard to say… there are so many styles and so many types of food to eat. Two years ago, without hesitation, I would have said that my number one was soup dumplings (小笼包). But I think I had so many during that one trip that the flavor is burned upon my palate and I no longer crave it as much as I used to. More recently, I’ve become obsessed with a close cousin of the soup dumpling, pan fried buns (生煎饱, literally, raw fried buns).

Much like a soup dumpling, pork, pork tallow, and pork fat are wrapped in a thin dough and sealed shut with a twist. Unlike a soup dumpling, these babies are lined up in a huge cast iron pan, covered, and fried with the seal side down. You can see the upside down dumpling twist on the left in the pic above. I didn’t get a good pic of the big cast iron pan, but you can find one here, from the exact same purveyor I visited (Lil’ Yang’s Crispy Pan Fried Buns): Flickr pic of 小扬生煎饱.

My goals for successfully eating these crispy pan fried buns are the same for soup dumplings: don’t spill the meat juice, add finely julienne ginger and red vinegar to each bite, and don’t burn my tongue or palate! My technique is the same: nibble a hole at the top of the bun, stuff ginger in said hole and spoon in some vinegar, allow to cool for 15 seconds (if I can wait that long), and then it’s a one bite deal from there. There’s no better feeling than having a mouth full of juicy pork, crispy dough from underside, and ginger&vinegar to cut the richness of the pork fat. This is the new number one eats on my list for my next Shanghai trip.

2 Responses to “Shanghai 2010: New Obsession, Crispy Pan Fried Buns (生煎饱)”

  1. Lew October 21, 2010 at 1:10 pm #

    I’m so hungry today. I hate you for posting this. 😉 If you find somewhere anywhere near here to eat these, let’s go there immediately.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Shanghai & Beijing Eat-ologue For Mike & Katie « lip shmacking around - February 22, 2011

    […] blogged about crispy panfried buns when I came back from my trip and I still think about them. They are really heavy so your best bet […]

Leave a Reply

